Question: What is the capital of India in ancient times?

During the British Raj, until 1911, Calcutta was the capital of India. By the latter half of the 19th century, Shimla had become the summer capital. King George V proclaimed the transfer of the capital from Calcutta to Delhi at the climax of the 1911 Imperial Durbar on 12 December 1911.

What was the capital of ancient India?

Pataliputra was a city in ancient India, built by Magadha ruler Udayin in 490 BCE as a small fort near the Ganges river.

Was Bombay the capital of India?

Upon India’s independence in 1947 the city was incorporated into Bombay State. In 1960, following the Samyukta Maharashtra Movement, a new state of Maharashtra was created with Bombay as the capital. Mumbai is the financial, commercial, and the entertainment capital of India.


Mumbai Bombay

What is the second capital of India?

The English rulers considered Nagpur as the centre of India and hence identified this point and constructed the Zero Mile Stone. Being at the center of the country, they also had a plan to make Nagpur the second capital city.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Is it better to do UG in India or abroad?

What is the capital of Magadh?

The ancient city of Pataliputra was founded in the 5th century bce by Ajatashatru, king of Magadha (South Bihar). His son Udaya (Udayin) made it the capital of Magadha, which it remained until the 1st century bce.

Where is the capital of Magadh?


Kingdom of Magadha
Capital Rajagriha (Girivraj) Later, Pataliputra (modern-day Patna)
Common languages Magadhi Prakrit Ardhamagadhi Prakrit
Religion Hinduism Buddhism Jainism
Government Absolute monarchy as described in the Arthashastra

Which was the first capital of British India?

In 1772, when Calcutta was announced as the capital of British India, Warren Hastings, the first and most famous of the British governor-general of India moved all important offices from Murshidabad — the former capital of Bengal during Mughal Period — to Calcutta.

How many capital city are there in India?

India has 28 states. There are also 8 union territories. The 28 Indian States and their capitals are as follows.

List of Indian States and Capitals.

States and Their Capitals
States Name Capital Founded Date
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 20 Feb 1987
Assam Dispur 26 Jan 1950
Bihar Patna 26 Jan 1950

Which is capital city of India?

New Delhi, national capital of India. It is situated in the north-central part of the country on the west bank of the Yamuna River, adjacent to and just south of Delhi city (Old Delhi) and within the Delhi national capital territory.

Who changed the capital?

As such British architects, Sir Edwin Lutyens and Sir Herbert Baker took the charge of redesigning the new capital. The new capital was carved out from undivided Punjab province and was named ‘New Delhi’ in 1927. Initially, everyone was hoping that the new capital would be ready within four years.

IT IS SURPRISING:  You asked: How much does McDonald's franchise cost in India?

When did Calcutta became capital of India?

Warren Hastings, the first Governor-General of India, made it the seat of the supreme courts of justice and the supreme revenue administration, and Calcutta became the capital of British India in 1772.

Which city is capital of two states?

CHANDIGARH, India — Since Chandigarh is the shared capital city of both Punjab and Haryana, two farming states in northern India, many of the state government offices are located there.

What is the winter capital of India?

Srinagar, city, summer capital of Jammu and Kashmir union territory (Jammu is the winter capital), northern India, situated in the Kashmir region of the Indian subcontinent. The city lies along the banks of the Jhelum River at an elevation of 5,200 feet (1,600 metres) in the Vale of Kashmir.

What is the capital city of Pakistan?

Islamabad, city, capital of Pakistan, on the Potwar Plateau, 9 miles (14 km) northeast of Rawalpindi, the former interim capital.