What are the 3 physical features that provide protection for India?

What are 3 physical features?

Landforms, bodies of water, climate, soils, natural vegetation, and animal life are among them. Physical features are including landforms, bodies of water, terrains, and ecosystems.

What are the physical features of the India?

Physical features of india

  • The Himalayan Mountains. These mountain ranges run in a west-east direction from the Indus to the Brahmaputra. …
  • The Northern Plains. …
  • The Peninsular Plateau. …
  • The Indian Desert. …
  • The Coastal Plains. …
  • The Islands.

What are the three main relief features of India?

The most widespread relief feature of India is (1) Mountains (2) Plains (3) Plateaus. India’s most prevalent relief feature is plains, i.e. 42.2 per cent of the landscape.

How does India’s geography protect it?

Water and mountains surrounded ancient India. This geographic isolation protected the people who settled in this region. It was extremely difficult for outside invaders to reach the subcontinent without making dangerous journeys over the mountains or across the ocean.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Best answer: What were the positive effects of British colonization in India?

What are physical features?

Physical features are parts of a landscape, organism, etc., that you can see and touch. The term is often used in geology to refer to features such as…

What are the major physical features?

Mountains, hills, plateaux, and plains are the four major types of landforms. Minor landforms include buttes, canyons, valleys, and basins. Tectonic plate movement under the Earth can create landforms by pushing up mountains and hills.

Which are the three main physical regions of India?

The Indian subcontinent can be divided into four geographical divisions. In this paper, we characterize three of the four divisions; the Northern Plains, the Deccan Plateau, and the Northern Mountains or the Himalayan as regions with dissimilar climatic and physical resources.

What are the five major physical features of India?

Note: India is majorly subdivided into five physical regions, namely, the northern mountainous region, north Indian plain, peninsular plateau, islands, and the coastal plain.

They are:

  • The Great Mountains of the north.
  • The north Indian plain.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The coastal plains.
  • The Islands.

What are three geographical features of India?

India’s total land mass is 2,973,190 square kilometers and is divided into three main geological regions: the Indo-Gangetic Plain, the Himalayas, and the Peninsula region. The Indo-Gangetic Plain and those portions of the Himalayas within India are collectively known as North India.

What are the three main relief?

Depending up on the elevation and shape landforms or relief feature are called mountains, plateaus and plains.

What are main relief features of India?

The relief features of India are- Himalayan Mountains, Northern Plains, Peninsular Plateau, Indian Desert, Coastal Plains, Islands.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Is foreign MBA degree valid in India?

What are Indian relief features?

The relief features of Indian landmass can be divided into the following groups:

  • The Himalayas.
  • The Indo-Gangetic Plain.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Coastal plains.
  • The Desert.
  • The Islands.

Which physical features protect India’s borders from all sides?

The Himalaya mountain range is the world’s highest mountain range. They form India’s north-eastern border, separating it from the rest of Asia.

What are some of the defining physical features that protected and isolated the Indian subcontinent?

The world’s 40 highest mountains are in the ranges that make up India’s northern boundary. Those high peaks include Mount Everest, K2, Nanda Devi and Kunchenjunga. These mountains form a natural barrier that provides only limited routes for travel between lands to the north and the subcontinent.

What physical feature separates India from the continent of Asia?

The Himalaya mountains extend for about 2,500 kilometers (1,550 miles), separating the Indian subcontinent from the rest of Asia.