What are the powers of President of India Class 11?

What are the powers of President of India?

The president is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces. The president can declare war or conclude peace, on the advice of the Union Council of Ministers headed by the prime minister. All important treaties and contracts are made in the president’s name.

What are the 5 powers of the president?

The Constitution explicitly assigns the president the power to sign or veto legislation, command the armed forces, ask for the written opinion of their Cabinet, convene or adjourn Congress, grant reprieves and pardons, and receive ambassadors.

What are the 6 powers of the president?


  • make treaties with the approval of the Senate.
  • veto bills and sign bills.
  • represent our nation in talks with foreign countries.
  • enforce the laws that Congress passes.
  • act as Commander-in-Chief during a war.
  • call out troops to protect our nation against an attack.

What are the seven powers of the president?

Terms in this set (7)

  • Chief Legislator. Works with Congress.
  • Chief Executive. Enforces nation’s laws.
  • Chief Diplomat. Deals with other countries.
  • Chief of State. Represents all Americans.
  • Commander-in-Chief. Head of Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, and Coast Guard.
  • Chief of Party. …
  • Watchdog of the Economy.
IT IS SURPRISING:  Your question: Can Indians get jobs Kuwait?

What are the powers of President of India Class 9?

Legislative Powers of President

  • He summons or prorogues Parliament and dissolve the Lok Sabha.
  • He summons a joint sitting of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha in case of deadlock.
  • He addresses the Indian Parliament at the commencement of the first session after every general election.

What are two legislative powers of the president?

The President has the power either to sign legislation into law or to veto bills enacted by Congress, although Congress may override a veto with a two-thirds vote of both houses.

What are the 5 powers of the president quizlet?

The five powers of the president are to pardon somebody, make treaties, appoint cabinet members, delivers an annual State of the Union, and enforce laws.

What are the presidential powers quizlet?

The president has the following powers: 1) To propose legislation to Congress. 2) To submit the annual budget to Congress. 3) To sign legislation passed by Congress.

Some examples of presidential initiatives by President Obama are:

  • healthcare reform.
  • Wall Street regulation reform.
  • credit card regulation reform.

What are 3 powers of the judicial branch?

The Judicial Branch

  • Interpreting state laws;
  • Settling legal disputes;
  • Punishing violators of the law;
  • Hearing civil cases;
  • Protecting individual rights granted by the state constitution;
  • Determing the guilt or innocence of those accused of violating the criminal laws of the state;

What are six powers?

Rokushiki, also known as Six Powers, are super-human abilities that select people in the One Piece world can utilize after going through a specific, rigorous training regime.

One Piece: All Known Rokushiki Abilities, Ranked

  1. 1 Rokuogan.
  2. 2 Soru. …
  3. 3 Tekkai. …
  4. 4 Geppo. …
  5. 5 Shigan. …
  6. 6 Rankyaku. …
  7. 7 Kami-E. …
IT IS SURPRISING:  Best answer: Why Kochi has more rainfall than Mumbai?

What are the six constitutional powers of the president quizlet?

Terms in this set (6)

  • Power 1. Command the Military.
  • Power 2. Grant Reprieves and Pardons.
  • Power 3. Make Treaties.
  • Power 4. Appoint Ambassadors and Officers.
  • Power 5. Grant Commissions and Call Special Sessions of Congress.
  • Power 6. Approve or Veto Bills.

What are the constitutional powers of the president?

According to Article II of the Constitution the President has the following powers:

  • Serve as commander in chief of the armed forces.
  • Commission officers of the armed forces.
  • Grant reprieves and pardons for federal offenses (except impeachment)
  • Convene Congress in special sessions.
  • Receive ambassadors.