Who is the present Chief Justice of India 2019?

Who is current Chief Justice of India?

The current incumbent is N. V. Ramana who took office of Chief Justice of India on 24 April 2021.

Supreme Court of India (1950–present)

Name (birth–death) Sharad Arvind Bobde (1956–)
Period of office 18 November 2019
23 April 2021
Bar Bombay High Court
Appointed by (President of India) Ram Nath Kovind

Who is the present Chief Justice of India in 2021?

His Lordship took oath as The Chief Justice of High Court of Karnataka on 10th May 2019 and His Lordship took oath as Judge of Supreme Court of India on 31st August 2021. Justice Vikram Nath was born on 24 September 1962.

Who is the Chief Justice of High Court of India 2020?

High Courts

Court Jurisdiction Chief Justice
Karnataka High Court Karnataka Ritu Raj Awasthi
Kerala High Court Kerala, Lakshadweep S. Manikumar
Madhya Pradesh High Court Madhya Pradesh Ravi Malimath
Madras High Court Puducherry, Tamil Nadu Munishwar Nath Bhandari (acting)
IT IS SURPRISING:  Who is known as father of Indian Renaissance and why?

Who is Judge of Supreme Court?

Seven of the 33 judges will eventually become Chief Justices of India. Justice N. V. Ramana is the 48th Chief Justice of India. He was sworn in on 24 April 2021.

List of Judges ordered by seniority.

Sr. No. 1
Name N. V. Ramana (Chief Justice of India)
Gender Male
Date of Appointment 17 February 2014 (7 years, 283 days)

Who is Chief Justice of Supreme Court?

The 48th and present chief justice is N. V. Ramana.

Chief Justice of India
Incumbent N. V. Ramana since 24 April 2021
Supreme Court
Abbreviation CJI
Residence 6, Krishna Menon Marg, Sunehri Bagh, New Delhi, Delhi, India

Who is the highest law officer in India?

The Attorney General for India is the Indian government’s chief legal advisor, and is its principal Advocate before the Supreme Court of India. They are appointed by the President of India on the advice of the Union Cabinet under Article 76(1) of the Constitution and hold office during the pleasure of the President.

Who appointed Supreme Court justices?

The Supreme Court consists of nine justices: the Chief Justice of the United States and eight Associate Justices. The justices are nominated by the president and confirmed with the “advice and consent” of the United States Senate per Article II of the United States Constitution.

Which is the first Supreme Court in India?

The Supreme Court of Judicature at Fort William in Calcutta (Kolkata), was founded in 1774 by the Regulating Act of 1773. It replaced the Mayor’s Court of Calcutta and was British India’s highest court from 1774 until 1862, when the High Court of Calcutta was established by the Indian High Courts Act 1861.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Is my money safe in India?

Who is the Supreme Court Chief Justice 2021?

The Honorable John G. Roberts, Jr., is the 17th Chief Justice of the United States, and there have been 103 Associate Justices in the Court’s history.

Who was the first Chief Justice of free India?

Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania was the first (Indian) Chief Justice of India. Kamal Narain Singh was the shortest-serving Chief Justice Of India, he held the Supreme Court Office as CJI just for 17 days from 21st November 1991 to 12th December 1991. Justice Y. V.

How many courts are there in India?

There are 25 High Courts in India, six having control over more than one State/UT. Delhi has a High Court of its own among the Union Territories. Each High Court shall consist of a Chief Justice and such other judges as appointed by the President of India.

Where Are High Court in India?

High courts

Sl No Court Jurisdiction
1 Allahabad High Court Uttar Pradesh
2 Andhra Pradesh High Court Andhra Pradesh
3 Bombay High Court Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Maharashtra
4 Calcutta High Court Andaman and Nicobar Islands, West Bengal