Why India is divided into different states?

Why is India divided into states?

India has been divided into states and union territories in order to maintain effective administration, maintain law and order, provide citizens their necessities and for overall development.

Why did our country divided into states?

Answer: Our country is divided into States and Union territories primarily because of administrative purposes. The States Reorganization Act of 1956 abolished the British system of provinces and princely states. In its place, new states were drawn based on ethnicity and language.

Why is our country divided into states Class 3?

For a big country like India it is difficult for the Central Government to look after the needs and welfare of whole country by itself. Thus, our constitution provides for separate government for each states. Each state has its own government which looks after the welfare of the people of that state.

Which is 1st state of India?

Andhra was the First State of India was formed on the basis of linguistic region, basically telugu speaking people. Later in the year 1953 its name was changed to Andhra Pradesh.

IT IS SURPRISING:  How many digits are there in a landline number in India?

What are the 7 territories?

India has, in total, seven Union Territories–Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi), Puducherry, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Is India divided into states?

India is a large country comprising of 28 states and 7 union territories. These states and the union territories are divided into districts.

How many UT are there in India in 2021?

At Present India now has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh.

How many states now exist in India?

The President is the constitutional head of Executive of the Union. In the states, the Governor, as the representative of the President, is the head of Executive. The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country.

Which state of India was not ruled by British?

India had 565 princely states during the year 1947. These were ruled by native rulers and not the British. The present states of Telangana, Goa, Jammu, and Kashmir, Sikkim, and Rajasthan were never under the British rule in India.

What is the capital of India?

New Delhi, national capital of India. It is situated in the north-central part of the country on the west bank of the Yamuna River, adjacent to and just south of Delhi city (Old Delhi) and within the Delhi national capital territory.

Which state is removed from 29 states?

On 2 June 2014, Telangana was separated from Andhra Pradesh as the 29th state of the union.

IT IS SURPRISING:  How can I go to Tumkur from Bangalore?

What would happen if India was not divided into state and Union territories?

The illegal activities such as robbery, black money, corruption etc., will increase and cannot be controlled. We can rule that coutry which has no states and Union territories. The unity will increases in the people and the regionalism like nationalism will decreases in the country.