You asked: Who was administrative head of British India?

The governor-general (now also the viceroy) headed the central government of India, which administered the provinces of British India, including the Punjab, Bengal, Bombay, Madras, the United Provinces, and others.

Who was the head of the British administration in India?

This system of governance was instituted on 28 June 1858, when, after the Indian Rebellion of 1857, the rule of the British East India Company was transferred to the Crown in the person of Queen Victoria (who, in 1876, was proclaimed Empress of India).

Which was the most administrative unit in British India?


  • Answer:
  • Districts of British India was the most important administrative unit in British India.
  • Explanation:
  • For example- Coimbatore, Malabar, Anantpur etc.. Districts came under Madras Presidency, Naga hill, Purnea and Champaran etc. Districts came under Bengal Presidency and Delhi, Garhwal and Kumaon etc.

Who was the head of British rule?

By the end of the 19th century the British Empire was the largest the world had ever seen, and Queen Victoria was head of nearly a quarter of the world’s people.

IT IS SURPRISING:  How many months does it rain in Mumbai?

What was the administrative divisions under British rule in India?

Divisions of Eastern Bengal and Assam

Chittagong Division. Rajshahi Division. Assam Valley Division. Surma Valley and Hill Districts Division.

How do we know British administration?

The British rule in India can be divided into two phases- the Company Rule till the year 1858 and the Crown Rule from 1858-1947. The year 1858 itself was a year of great event in that the administration of the Government of India passed into the hands of the British Government from the East India Company.

Is India still under British?

Dominion of India (1947–1950)

Independence came in 1947 with the Partition of India into the dominions of India and Pakistan, within the Commonwealth of Nations. … In 1950 India became a republic and the link with the British crown was severed.

Who is India’s first governor general?

The first governor-general in India (of Bengal) was Warren Hastings, the first official governor-general of British India was Lord William Bentinck, and the first governor-general of the Dominion of India was Lord Mountbatten.

Who built Calcutta?

1690 August, Job Charnok, an agent of East India Company (established 1600) settles in Calcutta. 1698 East India Co. bought three villages (Sutanuti, Kolkata, Gobindapur ) from local landlord Sabarna Chowdhury. 1699 East India Company started developing Calcutta as a Presidency city.

Which state was not under British rule in 1857?

The Maldive Islands were a British protectorate from 1887 to 1965 , but not part of British India .

Who Ruled India first?

The Maurya Empire (320-185 B.C.E.) was the first major historical Indian empire, and definitely the largest one created by an Indian dynasty. The empire arose as a consequence of state consolidation in northern India, which led to one state, Magadha, in today’s Bihar, dominating the Ganges plain.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Quick Answer: Why do Indians worship the sun?

Who was named the ruler of India in 1857?

Bahadur Shah II, a Mughal Emperor, was temporarily named ruler of India in 1857, and placed in power by the Sepoys, during the rebellion.

Who ruled India before British?

The Mughals ruled over a population in India that was two-thirds Hindu, and the earlier spiritual teachings of the Vedic tradition remained influential in Indian values and philosophy. The early Mughal empire was a tolerant place. Unlike the preceding civilisations, the Mughals controlled a vast area of India.

Who established the British rule in Bengal?

In 1905, largely at the initiative of the viceroy George Nathaniel Curzon, two new provinces were created, ostensibly on a geopolitical basis; these provinces were Western Bengal, including Bihar and Orissa, and Eastern Bengal and Assam.

When did British take over India?

On August 2, 1858, Parliament passed the Government of India Act, transferring British power over India from the company to the crown.

Which war started British rule in India?

After the first war for Indian independence, the British Government took over the administration to establish the British Raj. The British Raj refers to the period of British rule on the Indian subcontinent between 1858 and 1947.

History of the British Raj.

Dutch India 1605–1825
French India 1668–1954
Austrian India 1778–1785