Your question: Which are the major physiography divisions of India?

What are the major physiographic divisions India?

Complete Answer:Geographical features observed in India are broadly classified into 6 physiographic divisions. They are: The great Himalayas, the northern plains, the peninsular plateau, the coastal plains, the Indian desert, and the Islands.

Which are the major physiographic divisions of India describe any two?


  • The Himalayan Mountains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The Northern Plains.
  • The Indian Desert.
  • The Coastal Plains.
  • The Island Groups.

What is the physiography of India?

India is divided into six physiographic divisions on basis of the varied physiographic features: units as follows: Northern and North-eastern Mountain; Northern Plain; Peninsular Plateau; Indian Desert; Coastal Plains; and Islands.

Which are the physiographic divisions of India Class 10?

They are:

  • Northern mountains.
  • The Northern Great plains.
  • The Peninsular Plateau.
  • The coastal plains and Islands.

Which are major physiographic divisions of India contrast the relief of the Himalayan region with that of the Peninsular plateau?


The Himalayan Region The Peninsular Plateau
Consists of the loftiest mountains and deep valleys Consists of broad and shallow valleys, and rounded hills
Formed due to the collision of the Indo-Australian and Eurasian plates Formed due to the breaking and drifting of the Gondwana land
IT IS SURPRISING:  Is it appropriate to say Indian summer?

What does physiographic mean?

Definitions of physiography. the study of physical features of the earth’s surface. synonyms: physical geography. type of: geographics, geography. study of the earth’s surface; includes people’s responses to topography and climate and soil and vegetation.

What are the major physiographic divisions of India describe the physiography of Himalayas?

The Himalayas may be divided into three parallel ranges: (a) Greater Himalayas or Himadari Page 3 3 (b) Lesser Himalayas or Himachal (c) Outer Himalayas or Siwaliks. (a) The Greater Himalayas or Himadari: – northern most ranges and peaks. – average height of 6000 metres and width lies between 120 to 190 Kms .

What is physiography short answer?

The formation and development of the surface of the land like mountains, plateaus, and plains are called physiography.

Why is the physiography of India diversified?

The physiography of India is unique and is responsible for development of distinctive features in the sub-continent. … At 23°30′ North, the Tropic of Cancer passes through the centre of India, dividing the country into two equal parts – Northern and Southern India.