What was the government of India in 1991?

Who won 1991 election in India?

1991 Indian general election

Leader P. V. Narasimha Rao L.K. Advani
Leader’s seat Nandyal New Delhi (vacated) Gandhinagar
Seats won 244 120
Seat change 47 35

What was India’s government in 1990?

National Front (1989–1991)

National Front (NF) was a coalition of political parties, led by the Janata Dal, which formed India’s government between 1989 and 1990 under the leadership of N. T. Rama Rao, popularly known as NTR, as President of national front and V. P. Singh as Convener.

What was the government of India in 1992?

Rao ministry

P. V. Narasimha Rao ministry
Head of state R. Venkataraman (until 25 July 1987 – 25 July 1992) Shankar Dayal Sharma (from 25 July 1992)
Head of government P. V. Narasimha Rao
Member party Indian National Congress (Congress alliance)
Status in legislature Minority 256 / 543 (47%)

Who won 1992 election in India?

Elected President

The Election Commission of India held indirect 10th presidential elections of India on 16 July 1992. Shankar Dayal Sharma with 675,864 votes won over his nearest rival George Gilbert Swell who got 346,485 votes.

IT IS SURPRISING:  What are the types of health care facilities available in India?

Who was in government in 1991?

Government. The 43rd New Zealand Parliament continued. Government was The National Party, led by Jim Bolger. National controlled nearly seventy percent of the seats in Parliament.

Who is prime minister of India?

The Bharatiya Janata Party, which had won the most seats, formed a short-lived government under Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. However, two weeks later the United Front coalition was able to secure a parliamentary majority and H. D. Deve Gowda of Janata Dal became Prime Minister.

Who ruled India in 1997?

Narayanan is sworn in as India’s 10th president and the first member of the Dalit caste to hold this office.

Who was Prime Minister in January 1990?

Vishwanath Pratap Singh (Hindi pronunciation: [vishvanaath prataap sinh]) (25 June 1931 – 27 November 2008), also known as V. P. Singh, was an Indian politician who was the 7th Prime Minister of India from 1989 to 1990 and the 41st Raja Bahadur of Manda.

Who is the Prime Minister in 1991 in India?


No. Name Assumed office of Prime Minister
6 Rajiv Gandhi 31 October 1984
7 Vishwanath Pratap Singh 2 December 1989
8 Chandra Shekhar 10 November 1990
9 P. V. Narasimha Rao 21 June 1991

Who was our PM in 1992?

Narasimha Rao. Osmania University (B.A.) Nagpur University (LL.M.) listen); 28 June 1921 – 23 December 2004) was an Indian lawyer and politician who served as the 9th Prime Minister of India from 1991 to 1996.

Who was PM December 1992?

Ayodhya 6 December 1992 is a book written by P. V. Narasimha Rao, the tenth Prime Minister of India, and published by Penguin Books on 1 August 2006.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Frequent question: Is it OK to marry your cousin in India?

How many votes did Clinton get in 1996?

1996 United States presidential election

Nominee Bill Clinton Bob Dole
Party Democratic Republican
Home state Arkansas Kansas
Running mate Al Gore Jack Kemp
Electoral vote 379 159

Which party was in power in 1993?

1992 United Kingdom general election

Leader John Major Paddy Ashdown
Party Conservative Liberal Democrats
Leader since 27 November 1990 16 July 1988
Leader’s seat Huntingdon Yeovil
Last election 376 seats, 42.2% 22 seats, 22.6%

When was India’s last election?

General elections were held in India in seven phases from 11 April to 19 May 2019 to elect the members of the 17th Lok Sabha. Votes were counted and the result declared on 23 May.