Question: Who was the first foreign secretary of India?

Who was India’s first foreign secretary?

Foreign Secretary (India)

Foreign Secretary of India
Term length Two years, term can be extended.
Inaugural holder K. P. S. Menon, ICS
Formation 16 April 1948
Salary ₹225,000 (US$3,000) monthly

Who is called the secretary of the office of the foreign country in India?

Harsh Vardhan Shringla assumed charge as the Foreign Secretary of India on 29 January 2020. Education.

Who is the foreign secretary?

The Rt Hon Elizabeth Truss MP

Elizabeth Truss was appointed Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs on 15 September 2021.

Who was the first foreign woman minister of India?

Sovereign states

Name Country Mandate start
Golda Meir Israel 18 June 1956
Sirimavo Bandaranaike Ceylon 21 July 1960
Ceylon/ Sri Lanka 29 May 1970
Indira Gandhi India 22 August 1967

Who is chief secretary of India?

Chief Secretaries of all States

S.No. State Name
11. Karnataka Sh. T M Vijay Bhaskar
12. Kerala Dr. Vishwas Mehta
13. Madhya Pradesh Sh. Iqbal Singh Bains
14. Maharashtra Sh. Sanjay Kumar
IT IS SURPRISING:  What is special about Indian New Year?

Who is first Defence minister of India?

Minister of Defence (India)

Minister of Defence Rakshā Mantri
Formation 15 August 1947
First holder Baldev Singh
Deputy Ajay Bhatt Minister of State

Who is Union Home Secretary of India?

Home Secretary (India)

Home Secretary
Incumbent Ajay Kumar Bhalla, IAS since 22 August 2019
Ministry of Home Affairs
Member of Strategic Policy Group Committee of secretaries on Administration
Reports to Parliament of India Council of Ministers of India Prime Minister of India Home Minister of India

Who is harsh V Singla?

Harsh Vardhan Shringla (born 1962) is an Indian Foreign Service Officer serving as the 33rd and current Foreign Secretary of India, since 29 January 2020. He previously served as the Ambassador of India to the United States of America, High Commissioner to Bangladesh and Ambassador to Thailand.

What is the full form of mea?

The Ministry of External Affairs (abbreviated as MEA; IAST: Vidésha Mantrālaya विदेश मंत्रालय ) of India is the government agency responsible for maintaining the foreign relations of India.

Who is foreign minister of India now?

Subrahmanyam Jaishankar (born 9 January 1955) is an Indian diplomat and politician who is the current Minister of External Affairs of the Government of India since 31 May 2019.

S. Jaishankar
Assumed office 30 May 2019
Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Preceded by Sushma Swaraj
Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha

Who was the first woman foreign secretary?

Foreign Secretary: 2006–2007

Following the 2006 local elections, Blair demoted Foreign Secretary Jack Straw, and appointed Beckett as Straw’s successor. She was the first woman to hold the post, and only the second woman (after Margaret Thatcher) to hold one of the Great Offices of State.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Question: What is the destiny of Hinduism and Buddhism?

Who is the head of the Foreign Office?

The FCDO is managed from day to day by a civil servant, the permanent under-secretary of state for foreign affairs, who also acts as the Head of Her Majesty’s Diplomatic Service. The current permanent under-secretary is Sir Philip Barton, who took office on 2 September 2020.